Friday, August 7, 2015

Flyby Review: Toby Mac "This Is Not A Test"

Anybody know what day it is?

No, Silly!  It's not Wednesday!

Today is August 7, the day of the release of Toby Mac's "This Is Not A Test"!!!!

As far as my kids are concerned, one of the great perks of Mom writing is that we get some CDs and DVDs before the release date to review.  As much as I've raved about any product before, however, I have to say that this was, without a doubt, my kids' favorite product that we've gotten to preview before release.  We got it while my older daughter and son were at camp.  After my younger daughter finished squealing with delight, we went to pick up the kids at camp, and the first thing she said to her older sister when she saw her was, "MOM GOT THE NEW TOBYMAC ALBUM TO REVIEW BEFORE THE RELEASE DATE!!!!"  And then they both squealed.

From my son's Facebook page two days ago:

"Already have it. . . thanks Mom!"

So, yeah, this one most definitely gets a 5 out of 5 stars!

After all the hype building up the album, TobyMac did not disappoint.  The kids were immediately singing along with "Beyond Me," which was pre-released as a single and has been on the radio for a while.  The album also includes a great remix of that song.  Then there's "Love Feels Like," which features DC Talk.  I grew up about an hour outside of Washington, DC, and heard DC Talk at events there before they were ever popular nationwide.  They've been one of my favorites since I was a teenager, so hearing them together again on this song was thrilling!

My younger son's favorite is "Backseat Driver," featuring Hollyn and TobyMac's son, TruDog - is he really old enough to drive??  The kids also seemed to love "Like A Match" - well, it's hard to pick a favorite.  They loved the entire album and have been listening to it non-stop!  

My favorite song on the album is "Undeniable."  I love the line, "From the hymns that my daddy sang, I know I was made to glorify Your Name."  This man has not rejected the hymns with which he was raised and that are such a rich part of our Christian life and history, but he has embraced them while also pioneering the cutting edge of Christian contemporary music for several decades. 

TobyMac is one of the rare artists that has stood the test of time.  He came on the scene when he and Christian contemporary music were young, and he and the other members of DC Talk extended the world of CCM to include the popular beat-box rap of the 80s.  With each album, as a part of DC Talk or on his own, he has been able to keep his style fresh and new without discarding the elements that made him popular in the first place.  And while I will never "judge" an artist's heart for good or bad in a review - because none of us have any idea what is going on inside anyone else's heart - his lyrics speak of a man who strives to follow after God with his whole heart.

So, don't waste any more time reading this review!  Go get this album!

Unless, of course, you want to try for a free copy!  As usual, Flyby is giving away copies of this terrific album.  To enter to win, I just want to know one thing from you:  Have you been a fan since the glory days of DC Talk (80s and 90s), were you introduced to TobyMac after he went solo, or is today the first time you've ever heard of him?  Comment here or on my Facebook page for your chance to win!  Drawing will be held next Friday, August 14.

About TOBYMAC:Toby McKeehan(known professionally as TobyMac) is a husband, father, performer, songwriter, producer, and businessman.  Growing up in the northern Virginia suburbs adjacent to Washington D.C. helped instill his love for rap music.  While attending Liberty University during the mid 80s, Toby met Michael Tait and Kevin Max Smith and these three friends formed the Grammy winning, platinum selling group dc Talk.  Toby began his solo career in 1999 with his first solo album, Momentum, releasing in 2001.  Momentum has been followed by four additional studio albums, Welcome to Diverse City (2004), Portable Sounds (2007), Tonight (2010), and Eye On It (2012), along with his first live album, Alive and Transported (2008).  This Is Not A Test is his 6th studio album to be released.  Starting with dc Talk, and then going solo when the group disbanded, Toby still clings to such rootsy notions as hard work, persistence, patience, and - perhaps most relevant of all - the power of music, which he insists is still what keeps him going.  "It's the truth," he says.  "I still believe that a song can penetrate a heart.  I believe God can use a song to open someone's mind and heart."    
This Is Not A Test  (Deluxe Edition) Songs: 1. Like a Match
2. Backseat Driver (featuring Hollyn & TRU)
3. This Is Not a Test (featuring Capital Kings)
4. Lights Shine Bright (featuring Hollyn)
5. Til the Day I Die (featuring NF)
6. Feel It (featuring Mr. Talkbox)
7. Move (Keep Walkin')
8. Love Broke Thru
9. Beyond Me
10. Love Feels Like (featuring dc Talk)
11. Undeniable
12. Lift You Up (featuring Ryan Stevenson)
13. Fall
14. Beyond Me (Phenomenon Remix)
15. Like a Match (Garcia's Remix)

S O C I A L • C O R N E R
YOUTUBE CHANNEL - Includes a 3 part video series for the song Feel It (see link on the Feel It giveaway below) 
FEEL IT GIVEAWAY (Feel It will be the 2nd single released from the new album.)

"Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.
Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway.  If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win.  Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.”


  1. I have loved TobyMac since the DC Talk days. Actually, I still sing along to DC Talk even now. :) I love his new solo stuff, though.

  2. I listened to DC Talk as a teenager & still support TobyMac, Newsboys, & Audio Adrenaline! I love the camel pic! :)

  3. Congratulations to Heather P for winning this CD (entry from Facebook)! :-)